J. Chad Parker, PLLC

J. Chad Parker, PLLC

 

Unisured Motorists

Obtaining coverage to protect yourself in the event you are at fault in a motor vehicle accident is of primary concern to motorists when shopping for insurance. Having liability insurance is required by law. What is often overlooked by even the savviest consumers is the importance of carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This protects you against careless motorists who are uninsured. Or those who, while insured, carry an insufficient amount of insurance to cover the costs of medical care, lost wages, and other damages that the law permits you to recover when you are injured by someone’s negligence.

Uninsured Motorists

What Is The Coverage for Texas Drivers?

The National Insurance Institute estimates approximately 14.1% of motorists in Texas are uninsured. While almost half the states require that motorists carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, Texas does not. Many motorists cover themselves with the minimum liability coverage required by law. In Texas, that is $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. For example, if you had five occupants in your vehicle, the total amount of available insurance to cover the injuries of those in your vehicle would be $60,000, with no more than $30,000 available to any one person injured in the accident. With the high cost of medical care to treat injuries, the minimum liability coverage carried by many Texas drivers is often woefully inadequate.

Surprisingly, the addition of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to your policy does not raise your premiums significantly. If you are involved in an accident that results in significant injury, not having this coverage could prove to be costlier than an increase in premiums. Some insurance agents may not encourage you to obtain this coverage. However, state law requires them to have you sign a waiver of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This is to prove that they did offer it to you and you knowingly rejected it.

Contact Your Insurance Agent

I encourage you to get on the phone with your agent today. Inquire about whether you already have uninsured/ underinsured coverage. If not, here is a checklist to assist you in securing this invaluable coverage for the benefit of you and your loved ones:

      • Check your insurance policy to see if you already have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
      • If you do not have a copy of your policy, call your agent and request one. Ask them to send you a copy of your declarations page which will list all the coverages you are paying for.
      • If you are not covered, discuss your circumstances with your agent. They can provide you with a recommendation for adequate coverage and a quote.
      • Even if you are covered, it may be a good time to discuss your circumstances with your agent. So that they can provide you with a recommendation to increase your coverage limits.
      • If you determine that you can only afford the minimum coverage limits for uninsured motorist benefits, add it to your policy. Some coverage is always better than none.

Contact A Legal Expert

If you or a loved one has been a victim of being hit by an uninsured driver, contact Attorney, J. Chad Parker. With over 25 years of experience, J. Chad Parker will fight for you, so that you Don’t Get Hurt Twice!